News & Notes

Enter your email address to subscribe to the mailing list:

A Stone Throw From A Glass House released today

Posted on October 28th, 2016 by administrator

A Stone Throw From A Glass House

Half a decade in the making, today – Friday, October 28th, 2016 – sees the long-awaited release of Illusion of Joy’s fifth full-length album A Stone Throw From A Glass House. This follow-up to the 2011 release No One Expects An Inquisition features the addition of Maresa Whitehead performing vocals on over half of the song-cycle, transforming the long-running solo project into a duo. In addition to Maresa, local Pittsburgh musicians Jimmy Semtex (Rein[Forced], Red Lokust) and Don Anderson (TERROR FIRMA SKY) lend their vocal talents to album closer “Building A Society.”

The full tracklist for A Stone Throw From A Glass House is as follows:

  1. Precious Cargo
  2. Metamorphosis
  3. You Did Better?
  4. Broken Toys
  5. Railway Forgotten
  6. Distance
  7. The Shaming
  8. Submission
  9. Evolution
  10. Always An Afterthought
  11. Pound By Pound
  12. Building A Society

The album is currently available for purchase from Amazon, CD Baby, iTunes and other online retailers.

Finally, if you are in Pittsburgh and wish to join Illusion of Joy in celebrating the release of A Stone Throw From A Glass House, come to Mr. Small’s on Saturday, Novemeber 12th for Shimmer: a showcase of Pittsburgh ethereal, shoegaze, and darkwave. IoJ will be taking the stage at 12:30AM to perform selections from the new album. Tickets may be purchased in advance for $7.

IoJ to celebrate new album release at Shimmer

Posted on October 12th, 2016 by administrator

Buy tickets for Shimmer

On Saturday, November 12th, Night Sky Productions will be hosting “Shimmer: A Showcase of Pittsburgh Ethereal, Shoegaze and Darkwave.” This event will feature a reunion of Pittsburgh band The Garden, along with performances by Carol Blaze and Doors in the Labyrinth, tunes spun by DJ Fortune and, of course, a performance by Illusion of Joy to celebrate both the long-coming release of the 5th full-length album A Stone Throw From A Glass House (available October 28th) as well as IoJ’s conversion into a duo with the addition of Maresa Whitehead on vocals.

Shimmer will be held in The Funhouse at Mr. Smalls with doors opening at 9:00PM. Tickets are $7 (purchase at the door or in advance). Ages 21 and over only. Directions to the venue: